another day, another poached egg

Yes, we poach eggs a lot. Because poached eggs are adorable. Just look at that little guy!  He was my favourite today. Julio made this for me while I cooked up the crepes and once again, his plating skills far exceed mine.  I love my husband.  (And not just for his fine food styling.)

Have a mentioned before that this is my favourite way to have crepes?  Salami, havarti, poached egg and parsley.  The crepes had some sourdough in them and for the first time I saw Julio eat a PLAIN GF CREPE!  Crazy.
Have a mentioned before that this is my favourite way to have crepes? Salami, havarti, poached egg and parsley. The crepes had some sourdough in them and for the first time I saw Julio eat a PLAIN GF CREPE! Crazy.

I roasted red peppers for pizza yesterday and had a bunch left over, so for our “faspiatta” (see last pic) today Julio made this roasted red pepper hummus. There were a few leftover caramelized onions from the pizza too, so those got thrown in.

roasted red pepper and caramelized onion hummus. It made a lot! Anyone want some? I'm happy to share.
roasted red pepper and caramelized onion hummus. It made a lot! Anyone want some? I’m happy to share.

Here’s our pizza from Saturday. Again, a mediocre attempt at using my sourdough. Now I’m remembering why I abandoned sourdough in the spring. Although I’m determined to get something right! My sister gave me some successful GF sourdough bread today so I’m excited to try it tomorrow.

Sourdough pizza for Saturday lunch. I keep calling my starter my "sourdough baby" because it feels like it needs so much attention. Stir, feed, watch burp, use. Also, I'm a glutton for punishment because this crust certainly wasn't perfect. A bit too thick. But with the caramelized onions and red peppers and other toppings, it was pretty good. A thinner crust next time.
Sourdough pizza for Saturday lunch. I keep calling my starter my “sourdough baby” because it feels like it needs so much attention. Stir, feed, watch burp, use. Also, I’m a glutton for punishment because this crust certainly wasn’t perfect. A bit too thick. But with the caramelized onions and red peppers and other toppings, it was pretty good. A thinner crust next time.
All dressed up and ready to be eaten.  Everyone gets their little corner.
All dressed up and ready to be eaten. Everyone gets their little corner.
Faspiatta - our Mennonite/Italian combination meal. Faspa is something I grew up with - buns, meat, cheese, pickles, jam on a Sunday for supper. We like adding olives and wine and Italian meat so we gave it a fake Italian name.
Faspiatta – our Mennonite/Italian combination meal. Faspa is something I grew up with – buns, meat, cheese, pickles, jam on a Sunday for supper. We like adding olives and wine and Italian meat so we gave it a fake Italian name.

I hope you enjoyed this lovely fall day. We got to play with our friends’ new golden retriever puppy. Jack slobbered on her all afternoon and she was wet and sticky all over afterwards!  Jack loves a good romp with another pup, and I was glad that he was pretty gentle with her. The Richisons (puppy parents) are such a perfect family for a dog – so laid back and caring. That pup is in good hands. And now Jack has another puppy friend! That dog’s social life is getting to be more exciting than mine.

I’m so full from this weekend of eating. I predict carrots and dip for supper tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “another day, another poached egg”

  1. I’d love to try that sourdough crepe. And I don’t know how successful that bread was. The recipe should have told me to use xanthan gum. It might not hold together very well.

Leave a comment